OCFP recognises AFHTO members at 2021 Awards Ceremony

November 11, 2021

AFHTO congratulates physicians in our member family health teams who were recognized on Wednesday, November 11, 2021, at the Ontario College of Family Physicians (OCFP) 2021 Awards Ceremony.

Congratulations to all those recognized this year:

Dr. Barb Zelek of Marathon FHT, named 2021 Reg. L Perkin Ontario Family Physician of the Year as well as Regional Family Physician of the Year

Family Medicine Resident of the Year – Ontario’s Rising Star

  • Dr. Kaitlin Siou, Sunnybrook Academic FHT

Ontario College of Family Physicians Award of Merit

  • Dr. Alicia (Lisa) Rosenkrantz, West Carleton FHT

Leader for a Healthy Ontario Award

  • Dr. Shane Teper, Queen Square FHT

Regional Family Physicians of the Year

  • Dr. Laura Lyons, Thames Valley FHT
  • Dr. Sarah Gower, Upper Grand FHT
  • Dr. James Pencharz, Credit Valley FHT
  • Dr. Warren Rubenstein, Mount Sinai Academic FHT
  • Dr. Kimberley Ann McIntosh, Couchiching FHT- chair of 2020 Bright Lights Awards winner Couchiching OHT Social Determinants of Health Working Group

Award of Excellence recipients:

  • Dr. Josée Adam and Dr. Shoshanah Deaton, Clarence-Rockland FHT
  • Dr. Ali Damji, Credit Valley FHT
  • Dr. Allan Grill, Markham FHT
  • Dr. Louisa Marion-Bellemare and Dr. Julie Samson, Timmins Academic FHT
  • Dr. Karim Vellani, St. Michael’s Hospital Academic FHT


Relevant Links: